Exercises on Appositives and Appositive Phrases

I- Underline the appositives in the following sentences.

1. My son, the policeman, will be visiting us next week.

2. The captain ordered the ship’s carpenters to assemble the Express Boat, a large rowboat.

3. Sakada, the playboy and writer, is very attached to his mother.

4. The actor Daro directed only one picture.

5. A sweet and lovable girl, Reaksa grew up to be a mentally troubled woman.

6. Queen Victoria, one of England’s greatest monarchs, ruled for sixty-three years.

7. Puthea made Prohok, traditional Khmer food.

8. Razity, the lecturer at Norton University, is giving me writing lessons.

9. Pailin Rose, a well-known novel, has been filmed twice.

10. Chemistry, Sambo’s favorite subject, is easy for him.

11. Chet is visiting in Takeo, his old home town.

12. Mr. and Mrs. Dara, our neighbors for the past eight years, are moving to Phnom Penh.

13. Have you ever read a novel by William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet?

14. Mr. Koy, the star of many film comedies, also had his own television show.

15. The boys repaired our television Panasonic.


II- Circle the correct answer below.


1.
A. Joan, an excellent student is also a nurse
B. Joan, an excellent student, is also a nurse.
C. Joan an excellent student is, also, a nurse.


2.
A. Jane watched a movie, Sophie`s Choice.
B. Jane, watched a movie, Sophie`s Choice.
C. Jane watched, a movie Sophie`s Choice.


3.
A. John was astonished, when he saw his former girlfriend Jill at the dance.
B. John was astonished, when he saw his former girlfriend, Jill at the dance.
C. John was astonished when he saw his former girlfriend Jill at the dance.


4.
A. When I saw, Mr. Walker my old English teacher, I immediately thought of grammar.
B. When I saw Mr. Walker, my old English teacher, I immediately thought of grammar.
C. When I saw, Mr. Walker my old English teacher I immediately thought, of grammar.


5.
A. One of my dogs Peppy has been sick for a long time.
B. One of my dogs, Peppy has been sick, for a long time.
C. One of my dogs, Peppy has been sick for a long time.


6.
A. There goes Miguel a great athlete, who serves on the Committee for Student Concerns.
B. There goes Miguel, a great athlete, who serves on the Committee for Student Concerns.
C. There goes Miguel, a great athlete who serves, on the Committee for Student Concerns.


7.
A. Candy my oldest cat, is a calico, with a pink and gray nose.
B. Candy, my oldest cat, is a calico, with a pink and gray nose.
C. Candy, my oldest cat, is a calico with a pink and gray nose.


8.
A. Shona, the girl, wearing the pink dress is in my biology class.
B. Shona the girl wearing the pink dress, is in my biology class.
C. Shona, the girl wearing the pink dress, is in my biology class.


9.
A. Last night I attended a great musical, The King and I.
B. Last night, I attended, a great musical The King and I.
C. Last night I attended, a great musical, The King and I.


10.
A. This concept, the appositive can be a tricky element, in grammar.
B. This concept, the appositive, can be a tricky element in grammar.
C. This concept the appositive, can be a tricky element, in grammar.

III- Underline and punctuate the appositives in the following sentences. Remember: not all require punctuation.

1. Sweetbriar a company from the south is considering a nationwide advertising campaign.

2. An above-average student and talented musician John made his family proud.

3. The extremely popular American film Titanic was widely criticized for its mediocre script.

4. Citizen Kane the greatest American film won only one Academy Award.

5. 60 Minutes the TV news magazine program featured a story on the popular singer Whitney Houston.

6. The poem one of Robert Frost’s best is called “The Death of the Hired Man.”

7. I can’t find my notebook the one I use for history class.

8. Dick’s new suit a gray flannel one makes him look much older.

9. We enjoy walking an exercise which requires no great skill.

10. The theater an old and drafty one is nevertheless always crowded.

11. Miss Holmes my math teacher has taught for twenty years.

12. The garage a two-car one is attached to the house.

13. My sister a graduate of the University of Iowa is now studying law.

14. Our dog a cocker spaniel is ten years old.

15. Mrs. Norbert the president of the company will speak at the dinner.

Leave a Reply

